Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The ONS Board of Directors is a dedicated group of professionals who serve three-year terms and meet monthly to guide the strategic direction of the Society. Together, they represent decades of experience in oncology nursing clinical care, education, research, and leadership.

To contact members of the Board, please email

Susan M. Schneider, PhD, RN, AOCN®, FAAN
President (2016–2018)
Chapel Hill, NC

Laura Fennimore, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
President-Elect (2018)
Pittsburgh, PA

Kay Harse, RN, MS, AOCN®
Treasurer (2015–2018)
Rescue, CA

Barbara Holmes Gobel, MS, RN, AOCN®
Secretary (2016–2019)
Western Springs, IL

Diane Barber, PhD, APRN, ANP-BC, AOCNP®
Director-at-Large (2016–2019)
Richmond, TX

Eva Gallagher, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, CPHQ, CMPP
Director-at-Large (2016–2019)
Shorewood, MN

Julie Painter, RN, MSN, OCN®
Director-at-Large (2017–2020)
Indianapolis, IN

Jean Rosiak, DNP, RN, AOCNP®, CBCN
Director-at-Large (2015–2018)
Waukesha, WI

Maggie Smith, DNP, MSN/Ed, RN OCN®
Director-at-Large (2017–2020)
Olympia Fields, IL

Joni Watson, MBA, MSN, RN, OCN®
Director-at-Large (2015–2018)
Waco, TX