Honorary Member Award

Former Vice President Joe Biden and Past ONS President Susan Schneider Former Vice President Joe Biden and Past ONS President Susan Schneider

2018 Award Recipient

Joe Biden, former Vice President of the United States, and Dr. Jill Biden, former Second Lady of the United States. 

View past recipients


Honor an individual who is not otherwise eligible for membership, who makes significant contributions to oncology nursing, has a history of supporting ONS, and exhibits conduct consistent with the mission and core values of the Society.


An engraved plaque and travel and lodging support to attend ONS Annual Congress.

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates must be nominated by a current ONS member. Their distinguished contributions must be specific to the field of oncology and demonstrate service that significantly advances the goals of both the oncology nursing profession and ONS as an organization. Honorary membership is awarded at the discretion of the ONS Board of Directors.

Application Materials

The following application materials are required in support of the nomination:

  • Narrative statement summarizing the candidate’s qualifications, including examples that reflect their contributions to ONS and the oncology nursing profession
  • Two (2) letters of support from current ONS members
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae

Nomination Deadline Notice

At exactly 5 pm EST on September 30, the application site will automatically shut down. Any applications that are not completed at this time will be terminated and not accepted. This deadline cannot be extended without prior authorization from the ONS Awards advisory panel and the ONS Board of Directors.

Submit Your Nomination

  1. Read the submission instructions.
  2. Register by creating a username and password on the awards site.
  3. Access the online nomination.