Search Results for "board members"

Honorary Member Award

Honorary Member Award
2017 Award Recipient
None Awarded

To honor individuals not otherwise eligible for membership who have made significant contributions to the oncology nursing profession, have a history of engaging in actions supportive of ONS, and exhibited conduct consistent with the mission and core values of the Society (innovation, advocacy, and excellence).


An engraved plaque and travel and lodging support to attend the ONS Annual Congress.

Eligibility Criteria 

Candidates must be nominated by a current ONS member. Their distinguished contributions must be specific to the field of oncology and demonstrate service that has significantly advanced the goals of both the oncology nursing profession and ONS as an organization. Honorary Membership is awarded at the discretion of the ONS Board of Directors.

Application Materials 

The following application materials are required in support of the nomination.

  • Narrative statement summarizing the candidate’s qualifications, including examples that reflect their contributions to ONS and the oncology nursing profession
  • Two (2) letters of support from current ONS members
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae


Important Notice About the Nomination Deadline 

ONS uses a vendor-supported online program for all award nomination applications. At exactly 5 pm ET on September 30, the application site will automatically shut down. Any applications that are not completed at this time will be terminated and will not be accepted. This deadline cannot be extended without prior authorization from the ONS Awards advisory panel and the ONS Board of Directors.

Submit Your Nomination 
  1. Read the submission instructions.
  2. Register by creating a username and password on the awards site.
  3. Access the online nomination.

If you have any questions regarding the nomination process, please contact the ONS awards staff at 412-859-6403 or email

ONS Membership Reaches All-Time High

ONS Membership Reaches All-Time High
Thursday, January 29, 2015

ONS member benefits have attracted more new members than ever before, leading to an all-time year-end high for ONS membership.  

story and image

ONS's growing membership reached a new milestone in 2014. The Society experienced a 4% net growth for the year, resulting in a year-end membership of 37,724. This was made possible by a robust 85% retention rate and a 20% increase in new members recruited compared to 2013.
“On behalf of the ONS Board of Directors, I want to welcome new members to ONS,” said Margaret Barton-Burke, PhD, RN, FAAN, president of ONS. “Thank you, too, to all of our members for your continued dedication to the care of your patients and their families. ONS would not be the organization it is today without our members.” 
ONS members are dedicated to providing the best possible care for their patients and families. They know that education is at the heart of cancer care and that the best place to acquire that education and knowledge is through ONS. Member benefits such as continuing nursing education, clinical practice resources, and networking opportunities continue to attract more new members to the ONS family.
ONS is committed to promoting excellence in oncology nursing and the transformation of cancer care by providing a professional community for oncology nurses, developing evidence-based education programs and treatment information, and advocating for patient care, all in an effort to improve quality of life and outcomes for patients with cancer and their families. 

ONS Inducts 2015-2016 Board of Directors

ONS Inducts 2015-2016 Board of Directors
Wednesday, April 29, 2015

The 2015-2016 Board of Directors was welcomed during the business meeting at the ONS 40th Annual Congress in Orlando, FL.

story and image

During the ONS 40th Annual Congress in Orlando, FL, the Society welcomed the new and continuing members of its 2015–2016 Board of Directors. 
Margaret Barton-Burke, PhD, RN, FAAN, continues the second year of her two-year term as ONS president. She is the Mary Ann Lee Professor of Oncology Nursing at the University of Missouri and a research scientist at Siteman Cancer Institute in St. Louis.
“The changing healthcare system creates a challenging environment for all healthcare providers,” said Barton-Burke. “The 2015–2016 ONS Board of Directors will work to ensure the organization is on track to meet its mission of promoting excellence in oncology nursing and quality cancer care by developing a new strategic plan and continuing to strengthen our membership and chapters.”
The president-elect is Susan M. Schneider, PhD, RN, AOCN®, FAAN, associate professor and lead faculty oncology nursing specialty at the Duke University School of Nursing in Durham, NC. She will serve one year as president-elect followed by a two-year term as president.
The newly-elected treasurer is Kay Harse, RN, MS, AOCN®, manager of the Cancer Care Network at the University of California, Davis Health System, in Sacramento. Marlon Garzo Saria, MSN, RN, AOCNS®, FAAN, continues his role as secretary. He is an advanced practice nurse researcher at the University of California, San Diego.
Newly-elected ONS directors-at-large are Jeanie Rosiak, DNP, RN, ANP-BC, AOCNP®, CBCN, and Joni L. Watson, MBA, MSN, RN, OCN®. Rosiak is a nurse practitioner for Aurora University of Wisconsin Medical Group in Milwaukee and Watson is the director of the Baylor Scott & White Cancer Center, Hillcrest Medical Center, in Waco, TX. 
The ONS directors-at-large continuing their terms are
  • Donald “Chip” Bailey Jr., PhD, RN, FAAN, associate professor at the Duke University School of Nursing
  • Anne M. Ireland, MSN, RN, AOCN®, CENP, clinical director of the solid tumor malignancy program at City of Hope National Medical Center in Duarte, CA
  • Susie Newton, RN, MS, AOCN®, AOCNS®, senior director of health management solutions at Quintiles in Dayton, OH, and
  • Colleen O’Leary, MSN, RN, AOCNS®, clinical nurse specialist at the Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute in Columbus.