Search Results for "membership selection"

ONS Members Inducted as 2015 American Academy of Nursing Fellows

Oncology Nursing Society Members Inducted as 2015 American Academy of Nursing Fellows
Friday, August 21, 2015

Nine members of the Oncology Nursing Society will be inducted as 2015 Amercian Academy of Nursing Fellows at the Academy's annual policy conceference in October in Washington, D.C.

story and image

The Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) is pleased to announce that nine of its members will be inducted as 2015 American Academy of Nursing Fellows. The induction ceremony will take place during the Academy’s annual policy conference, Transforming Health, Driving Policy, on October 17, 2015 in Washington D.C.

“We could not be more proud of the members who are receiving such a prestigious honor,” said Margaret Barton-Burke, PhD, RN, FAAN, president of the Oncology Nursing Society. “It is truly a testament to the impact that our membership has across the cancer community.”

Fellows are selected based on their contributions to nursing and healthcare, and sponsorship by two current Academy fellows. Applications are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows. Selection is based on the extent the nominee’s career has influenced health policy and the health and wellbeing of patients.

The ONS members who will be inducted as Academy fellow are:

June Eilers, PhD, APRN-CNS, BC – University of Nebraska Medical Center
Emily Ann Haozous, PhD, RN – University of New Mexico
Verna Hendricks-Ferguson, PhD, RN, CHPPN – Saint Louis University
Sharon Kozachik, PhD, RN – Johns Hopkins University
Gail Mallory, PhD, RN, NEA-BC – Oncology Nursing Society
Sandra Mitchell, PhD, CRNP, AOCN – National Cancer Institute
Julia Ann Nunemaker Eggert, PhD, RN, GNP-BC, AOCN – Clemson University
Cindy Tofthagen, PhD, ARNP, AOCNP, FAANP – University of South Florida
Fang Yu, PhD, RN, GNP-BC – University of Minnesota

ONS is a professional association of more than 37,000 members committed to promoting excellence in oncology nursing and the transformation of cancer care. Since 1975, ONS has provided a professional community for oncology nurses, developed evidence-based education programs and treatment information, and advocated for patient care, all in an effort to improve quality of life and outcomes for patients with cancer and their families. Learn more at

Honorary Member Award

Honorary Member Award
2016 Award Recipient
Bonnie Barnes, FAAN and Mark Barnes, FAAN, Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.) and Barbara L. Grant, MS, RDN, CSO, FAND

To honor individuals who are not otherwise eligible for membership, who have made significant contributions to oncology nursing, demonstrated interest and support in ONS, and exhibited conduct consistent with the mission and core values of ONS (integrity, innovation, stewardship, advocacy, excellence, and inclusiveness).


A plaque, round-trip airfare to the ONS Annual Congress, and a one-day per diem for Congress.

Eligibility Criteria 

The individual must be nominated by an ONS member and receive final approval by the ONS Board of Directors. In addition, the nominee’s accomplishments must be specific to the field of oncology. These contributions must be significant and must demonstrate a sustained interest in and support of ONS. A listing of these contributions must support the validity of the recognition.

Application Materials 
The following application materials are required.
  • Nomination narrative
  • Two (2) letters of support from ONS members
  • One (1) letter of support from a non-ONS member
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae
Important Notice About the Nomination Deadline 

ONS uses a vendor-supported online program for all award nomination applications. At exactly 5 pm ET on September 30, the application site will automatically shut down. Any applications that are not completed at this time will be terminated and will not be accepted. This deadline cannot be extended without prior authorization from the ONS Awards advisory panel and the ONS Board of Directors.