Each year, ONS grants prestigious recognition to oncology nurses, researchers, and employers who are changing lives and bettering their profession. Due to the impact that Hurricane Florence has had on many of our members, the 2019 Awards nomination deadline has been extended through 5 pm EDT on October 8th. Nominating a colleague or employee gives special notice to their work—and most award winners are granted travel reimbursement to attend the ONS Annual Congress.

The 2018 ONS Awards recipients were recognized at the Opening Ceremonies at ONS Congress in Washington, DC. View the short video to learn more about our nurse leaders.

Distinguished Awards

Recognize individuals for their career achievements and outstanding contributions to cancer care.

Excellence Awards

Recognize individuals for their contributions and achievements within 11 fields of expertise, including medical oncology, radiation therapy, and blood and marrow transplantation. 

Pearl Moore "Making a Difference" Awards

Recognize teams, emerging leaders, direct care nurses, and international nurses who have impacted patients with cancer and their communities. 

Employer Recognition Awards

Recognize employers who honor and show exemplary support for registered nurses working in oncology. Awards exist for small, mid-size, and large institutions. 

Research and Clinical Lectureships

Afford four individuals a prestigious opportunity to present at the ONS Annual Congress. The ONS Oncology Clinical Lectureship recognizes and supports excellence in clinical practice, while the Trish Greene Memorial Quality of Life Lectureship focuses on quality-of-life issues in cancer care. Our two research awards recognize individuals for their contributions to oncology nursing research.

Publishing Awards

Recognize writers who have contributed full-length articles to an appropriate volume of Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing or Oncology Nursing Forum, granting them automatic eligibility. Nominations are not considered.